…The Musings of a Strange Guy

Now we each had a copy of the receipt upon which was clearly printed: “TWO bookshelves” and what does the delivery guy who came with only ONE bookshelf say? Ooops!

Anyway, I started sifting through my books yesterday and I nearly laughed out loud when I saw the look on my dad’s face when he came upstairs to see what I was up to. He genuinely wasn’t aware of the number of books lying about and I heard him muttering this morning to my mum that maybe two bookshelves wouldn’t be enough. He even suggested (the horror!) that I should sell some of my books – I told him he could do that after I’m dead (and when pigs would fly). I like the idea of those books being preserved for later members of the family to use and learn from. If I’ll have my way, then these books, however numerous they are, will stay and will do so for a long time…even when I’ll no longer be here. I know the Mauritian mentality of throwing “useless” things away too well!

Anyway, the lady from the furniture warehouse phoned in the morning and they said they’d be bringing my exiled bookshelf. As it is, I have taken out all the SF and fantasy books and laid them nicely on the shelves. I’ll use the other one for the ‘traditional’ books and literature texts I’d been using.

Yesterday was the equivalent of a spice melange intake (re-reading Dune again, as you can guess) and I could see in my mind’s eye the shape that my part of the house would look like in the near-future. There is so much to be done, so much to plan and budget for! I guess that I haven’t really been thinking of the future in that sense: I know, of course, that like many Mauritians, I will end up living in the same house as my parents, but still… thoughts of MY input – other than financial – had not really registered, and it is now, at the beginning of the school holidays, that I see my house, my home in a new light.

But now that I am free from students, I want to have as much time to myself to rest and enjoy…perhaps not in a spectacular way, but in a way that leaves me refreshed and inspired when these (too short!) holidays end in two weeks’ time.

Leave a Reply

